« Join us for an exciting webinar hosted by the National Mental Health Consumers’ Self-Help Clearinghouse! | Main | Webinar: Psychiatric Advance Directives »
Wednesday
Apr012015

Special National TA and Networking Teleconference on April 20 Will Feature a Presentation on Career Development for CPS

A presentation on career development for certified peer specialists followed by a discussion will be the focus of the next monthly national technical assistance and networking teleconference of the National Mental Health Consumers’ Self-Help Clearinghouse. The call will be on Monday, April 20, 2015, at 1 p.m. ET, noon CT, 11 a.m. MT, 10 a.m. PT, 7 a.m. in Hawaii. The call-in number is 866-906-0123; the pass code is 5037195#.

Thousands of trained and certified behavioral health peer workers are now employed across the country in most states with Medicaid reimbursement.  Efforts are also underway to develop national peer worker standards. As this new peer workforce grows, it’s essential to identify and create peer career development and promotion opportunities so that certified peer workers earn salaries consistent with their skills and are able to move ahead in their careers. Accomplishing this will require numerous strategies, including enabling certified peer workers to obtain academic credit and educational credentials.

During our April 20th call, Jessica Wolf, founder of the Facebook Group “Education Pays! Peer Career Development,” will facilitate a discussion on individual and systemic peer career development strategies. We hope you will join us!

Jessica Wolf, Ph.D., is principal of Decision Solutions, a behavioral health workforce consulting practice emphasizing peer education, training, and employment. She is also an assistant clinical professor in the Yale University School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry. Her extensive administrative and educational experience includes 16 years as coordinator of the Housatonic Community College MERGE Mental Health Certificate Program. She has personal and family experience of mental health conditions.

Join us on April 20th at 1 p.m. ET! Again, the call-in number is 866-906-0123. The passcode is 5037195.