« The Key Update, Volume 9, Number 12 - June 2013 | Main | The Key Update, Volume 9, Number 10 - April 2013 »
Friday
May032013

The Key Update, Volume 9, Number 10.1 - May 2013

News and Alerts
___________________________________________________________



Alternatives 2013: You can help make it happen!

 
Your efforts can help make it possible for the planning to begin for Alternatives 2013! The annual Alternatives conference is the best place to learn about programs throughout the country that promote mental health recovery, wellness, self-determination, and peer support. Sandra Goodwick, a first-time attendee of Alternatives in 2012, started a petition because she feels the conference changed her life. Click on this link: http://www.change.org/petitions/cut-the-red-tape-holding-alternatives-conference-hostage and add your support to the petition. And spread the word to others who may benefit from the Alternatives conference: forward this email to a friend and/or share it on social networks. If you can spend five minutes, please email, call or write Secretary Sebelius (Kathleen.Sebelius@hhs.gov; 202-205-5445, Kathleen Sebelius, Secretary of Health and Human Services, 2000 Independence Avenue S.W., Washington, DC 20201). You might say, “Dear Secretary Sebelius, I am writing to request that HHS approve the national Alternatives conference that is funded by SAMHSA.” Add something about what the conference means to you, if you wish; then add: “I hope that you will do all within your power to see that funding for Alternatives 2013 is approved. Thank you. Sincerely, (your name and contact information). cc: Pamela Hyde, pam.hyde@samhsa.hhs.gov.” Do it today!
 

 
MHA Hosts Free Webinar on “Peer Services: Challenges and Opportunities in Health Care Reform”
 
Mental Health America is hosting a free webinar on “Peer Services: Challenges and Opportunities in Health Care Reform” on Wednesday, May 8, 2013, from 1 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET (noon CT, 11 a.m. MT, 10 a.m. PT). MHA writes: “Learn about the importance of programs that support recovery, resilience and wellness in the workforce. This is a great opportunity to learn about coverage for peer services in Medicaid, Health Care Exchanges, health homes and managed care, and ways to advocate for them!” The webinar will be presented by two experts in the field: Peter Ashenden, director of consumer affairs, Optum Health, and Harvey Rosenthal, executive director, New York Association of Psychiatric Rehabilitation Services. To register, see the source below. Questions? Email jkozminski@mentalhealthamerica.net or call 703-684-7722. (Materials from the webinar will be added to the MHA website at a later date.)
 
Source: http://nned.net/index-nned.php/NNED_content/calendar_details/peer-services-challenges-and-opportunities-in-health-care-reform
 

 
A Change in Day and Time for Our Monthly National Networking Teleconference!
 
Because some people have let us know that they would like to participate in the monthly national networking teleconferences of the National Mental Health Consumers’ Self-Help Clearinghouse but they can’t do so during the workday, we are changing the day and time of the next teleconference, which will be held Tuesday, May 21, at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT and 5 p.m. PT. The call-in number is 866-906-0123; the pass code is 5037195#. The purpose of the call is for peer movement activists from around the U.S. to get together, share information, and “network.” Join us! Again, the next call will take place on Tuesday, May 21, 2013, at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT and 5 p.m. PT. If you have a topic or topics you would like to see discussed on this call, please write to Susan Rogers srogers@mhasp.org with the word “Agenda” in the subject line. Please note that this new day and time are just for May; we will keep you posted on the date and time for June!
 
Source: http://www.mhselfhelp.org
 

 
Mental Health America to Present Highest Honor to Clearinghouse Director Susan Rogers
 
On June 7, 2013, Susan Rogers – director of the National Mental Health Consumers’ Self-Help Clearinghouse, a consumer-run national technical assistance center funded in part by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, and director of special projects of the Mental Health Association of Southeastern Pennsylvania – will be presented with the Clifford W. Beers Award, Mental Health America’s highest honor. Each year, Mental Health America presents the Beers Award to a person with lived experience of a mental health condition who best reflects the example set by Mental Health America founder Clifford W. Beers in his or her efforts to improve conditions for and attitudes toward people living with mental health conditions.
 
Source: http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/mental-health-america-to-present-highest-honor-to-susan-rogers-of-philadelphia-205773431.html